I was born in Alexandria, Virginia on January 23rd, 1947. My mother was from Pennsylvania coal mining country, and my father was a jazz musician from Rock Island, Illinois. I spent the first couple of years of my family in an apartment in the Washington DC area. My parents packed up and moved us to Rock Island when I was two and I spent the next 22 years of my life there. I attended Alleman High School, and took courses at BlackHawk Junior College.

I completed my bachelor’s degree in English Literature and Creative Writing at the University of Iowa in Iowa City. I spent the following fifteen years moving around, attending grad school at the University of Virginia  at Charlottesville (Environmental Sciences) and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Computer Science). Mostly, I worked in various computer-related positions. There was a stint for a few years in between working in upstate Connecticut.

I moved back here to marry someone I’d known for a long time; a year and a half later, she left me for someone else. I got drunk, got sober, had some religious experiences, attended seminary for a while, ended up getting a Master’s in Clinical Psychology to complement my Master’s in Computer Science from UNC-CH. I worked as a therapist for six years, and became pretty good at it.

When I was laid off from my therapist position, I returned to a computer-related job in IT which is where I’ve been since. Now, I’m thinking about a sort of semi retirement in a couple of years. I love life, and given the chance, I’d choose to live 150 years of it — or longer.